FIRST OFFENSE DUI
We Are Here to Serve You from Bail Hearing to Jury Trial
Escondido First Offense DUI Attorney
Helping Fight a First-Time DUI Charge in Carlsbad, Oceanside, Poway, Rancho Bernardo, San Marcos, and Vista
Driving under the influence (DUI) charges can arise when you cannot operate a vehicle safely because of the consumption of alcohol and/or drugs or if you have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more. A first-time offense is a serious crime. Soon after your arrest, the DMV could subject you to an administrative driver’s license suspension. If you’re convicted, you may face jail time, fines, probation, and other penalties the court deems appropriate. You can seek to avoid or minimize penalties by fighting your DUI charge.
Allow our DUI lawyer in Escondido to assist with your case. At Sterger Law Group, we have extensive experience pursuing favorable results for our clients inside and outside the courtroom. Our attorney knows how a criminal charge can affect a person’s life, and we care about what happens to the people we serve. That is why we will vigorously represent you and provide the advice and guidance you need to effectively navigate your case. We will take care of the legal details, relieving you of some of the burdens and worries you may be facing.
Schedule a free initial consultation with us by calling (760) 280-7900 or submitting an online contact form today.
Is a First-Time DUI a Felony in CA?
Generally, a DUI is a misdemeanor on the first violation in California. However, if the offense resulted in injury or death to another person, it could be charged as a felony.
Although a felony is a more serious crime than a misdemeanor, being convicted at either level can have lasting repercussions. You will have a mark on your criminal record. Because the information is publicly accessible, anyone can see it. If someone, such as a potential landlord or employer, sees that you have a criminal history, it could influence their judgments and decisions about you.
Can You Go to Jail for a First DUI in CA?
As noted, a first-time DUI is typically a misdemeanor. The penalties for a conviction can include a fine between $390 and $1,000 and/or jail for 96 hours to 6 months. However, a judge, at their discretion, may impose probation for 3 to 5 years in lieu of incarceration.
The terms of probation can include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Confinement for at least 48 hours,
- Completion of a driving under the influence program,
- Not driving with any amount of alcohol in your system,
- If arrested for a subsequent DUI, not refusing a chemical test, and/or
- Not committing any other criminal offense.
At Sterger Law Group, we seek just results for our clients. Our Escondido first-time DUI attorney can carefully review your situation and work toward a favorable outcome, such as dropped charges or lenient sentencing.
How Long Is Your Driver’s License Suspended for a First-Time DUI?
A DUI arrest in California can trigger criminal and administrative proceedings. You could lose your driver’s license for a certain period of time at either.
An administrative suspension of your driver’s license can occur immediately after your arrest and happens if you refuse or fail a chemical test.
The administrative suspension periods for those 21 years of age and older are as follows:
- First-time chemical test refusal: 1 year
- First-time chemical test failure: 4 months
The court can also order that your driver’s license be suspended if you are convicted of a first-time DUI. The length of suspension is 6 months.
We understand the hardships that you face if you’re without a driver’s license. We are familiar with the administrative and criminal proceedings and can aggressively fight to protect your driving privileges.
Get in Touch with Us Today
If you’ve been charged with a first-time DUI in Escondido, it’s crucial to have a criminal defense attorney help challenge the allegations. Our lawyer can review and analyze evidence, file motions, prepare a compelling defense, negotiate with the prosecutor, and present your case in court if necessary.
To learn more about how we may be able to help, please contact us at (760) 280-7900 today.